lohanative.blogg.se

Mark twain letters from the moon
Mark twain letters from the moon







mark twain letters from the moon

And I shall always see him, as he stood that night on a dinner-table, under the flash of lights and banners, in the midst of seven hundred frantic shouters, the most beautiful human creature that ever lived. Bob Ingersoll’s music will sing through my memory always as the divinest that ever enchanted my ears. I am well satisfied I shall not live to see its equal again. I doubt if America has seen anything quite equal to it.

MARK TWAIN LETTERS FROM THE MOON FULL

How handsome he looked, as he stood on that table, in the midst of those 500 shouting men, and poured the molten silver from his lips! What an organ is human speech when it is played by a master! How pale those speeches are in print, but how radiant, how full of color, how blinding they were in the delivery! It was a great night, a memorable night.

mark twain letters from the moon

Bob Ingersoll, - oh, it was just the supremest combination of English words that was ever put together since the world began. I heard four speeches which I can never forget. By George, I never was so stirred since I was born. “I've just come to my room, Livy darling, I guess this was the memorable night of my life. Letters from the Earth: Uncensored Writings These Reasoning Animals had disagreed on a theological detail and carried the matter to a Higher Court.” When I came back to note results, the cage of Higher Animals was all right, but in the other there was but a chaos of gory odds and ends of turbans and fezzes and plaids and bones and flesh-not a specimen left alive. Finally, a Salvation Army Colonel from Wapping. Next a Turk from Constantinople a Greek Christian from Crete an Armenian a Methodist from the wilds of Arkansas a Buddhist from China a Brahman from Benares. Next, in another cage I confined an Irish Catholic from Tipperary, and as soon as he seemed tame I added a Scotch Presbyterian from Aberdeen. They lived together in peace even affectionately. In the course of two days I was able to add a fox, a goose, a squirrel and some doves. In another hour I taught them to be friends with a rabbit. In an hour I taught a cat and a dog to be friends. Simple things which other animals easily learn, he is incapable of learning. Indeed, my experiments have proven to me that he is the Unreasoning Animal.









Mark twain letters from the moon